

MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING ON JUNE 9, 2022 OF

THE DES PLAINES BOARD OF FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSIONERS

D. Michael Albrecht	Commissioner	Daniel Anderson	Fire Chief
Thomas Green	Commissioner	Sam Foster	Deputy Fire Chief
Debra Lester	Commissioner	Matt Matzel	Deputy Fire Chief
Background			
Investigators:			
W. Rochette, Sgt, PD	Richard Niznik, PD	Matt Kulak PD	Thomas Boniak PD
Adam Banda PD	Theodore Kotlarz, Sgt,		
	PD		

Meeting called to order at 9:30 am

New Business: Commissioners to meet individually with both Police and Fire Chiefs to discuss suggested revisions to the Patrol Officer and Firefighter interview questions for next Eligibility Lists.

Motion to go into Executive Session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) of the Open Meetings act for personnel matters at 9:40 am, Fire Candidate interviews.

Motion made by Lester, 2nd by Green, all commissioners in favor.

Motion to go out of Executive Session for lunch break at 12:12 pm.

Motion made by Lester, 2nd by Green, all commissioners in favor.

Motion to go back into Executive Session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) of the Open Meetings act for personnel matters at 1:15 pm, Fire Fighter Interviews.

Motion made by Lester, 2nd by Green, all commissioners in favor.

Motion to go out of Executive Session at 2:45 pm . Motion made by Green, 2^{nd} by Lester, all commissioners in favor.

Motion to pass firefighter candidate #10 Bourke, made by Green, 2nd by Lester: Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Motion to pass firefighter candidate # 13, Reinert, made by Lester, 2nd by Green Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Motion to fail candidate #9, Flores, made by Green, 2nd by Lester: Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Motion to fail candidate #8, Page, made by Lester, 2nd by Green: Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Motion to pass candidate #3 Kazeos , made by Green, 2^{nd} by Lester: Albrecht Nay, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Motion to pass candidate #1 Learch, made by Green, 2nd by Lester: Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Motion to pass candidate #7 McAbee made by Green, 2nd by Lester: Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye.

Note: Candidate # 12, Kevin Osoba withdrew from consideration.

Summary: The following Firefighter Candidates pass the oral interview: Darren Bourke, Craig Reinert, Theodore Kazeos, Kevin Learch and Dylan McAbee.

The following Firefighter Candidates have been eliminated: Edwin Flores and Collin Page

Motion to pass Patrol Officer Candidate Shan Shadad regarding the Psychological Assessment, made by Lester, 2nd Green: Albrecht Aye, Green Aye, Lester Aye

Motion to adjourn made by Albrecht, 2nd Lester, all in favor, adjourned at 2:55pm

Next Regular Session:

Next Special Session: Thursday June 16th, Firefighter Oral Interviews

Respectfully submitted

Debra R. Lester, Commissioner